

2019 Annual Meeting Minutes

November 14, 2019 Hanover High School Auditorium

President Kristine McDevitt welcomed an audience of 400 people, members and non-members, to the Hanover High School auditorium on Thursday, Nov. 14.

Executive Director Adair Mulligan presented highlights of the year, including development of new strategic conservation planning maps to incorporate climate change criteria, gift of the Britton Forest, and education programs attracting nearly 1000 people. Program Coordinator Courtney Dragiff has provided outdoor environmental programs for 180 young children and led stewardship projects on our protected lands.

Ben Kilham of the Kilham Bear Center presented a very well received program on his research into black bears, the method he developed for introducing orphaned bear cubs to the wild, and the social structure of bear communities.

President McDevitt then called the annual business meeting of the membership to order. Minutes of the 2018 meeting were unanimously approved on a motion by Jill Niles seconded by Patrick O'Hern. Treasurer Ryan Johnson delivered the Treasurer's Report and offered thanks to former treasurer Jay Pierson. Ryan noted that our investments are managed by Mascoma Wealth Management and that our accountant is Rust and Co. CPAs. Our tax return may be viewed at our office by request. Ryan observed that the organization's financial status is sound and that assets increased this year by \$188,000, largely through member and corporate donations to match a challenge from the Byrne Foundation. For the first time in our history, assets exceed \$1 million.

Heidi Trimarco reviewed two proposed changes to the bylaws: altering officer terms from two consecutive three year terms to three consecutive two year terms and clarifying the role of emeritus members. The changes were unanimously approved on a motion by Ann Malenka, seconded by Dudley Smith.

Heidi announced that Kristine is stepping down from the board, and the audience thanked her for her service. To fill her slot, the board has recommended Richard Howarth, Chair of the Environmental Sciences Department at Dartmouth. She observed that we want to continue the board's tradition of including a member of the college's science faculty. The membership voted unanimously to appoint Rich Howarth to the board of directors on a motion by Mary Brown, seconded by Jill Niles.

Kristine adjourned the meeting at 8:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Kelley Lemay, Secretary